• First Floor Rear Double Bedroom
  • View from the Breakfast Room at Abbey Cottage
  • Abbey Cottage by Night
  • Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Abbey Cottage Fort Augustus Bed and Breakfast

Online Booking
Instant Confirmation
No Deposit
No Card Fees
No Booking Fees
Free WiFi
Free Parking
Breakfast Included

Welcome to Fort Augustus on the southern shores of the mystical Loch Ness. Our Bed and Breakfast offers accommodation in the picturesque village of Fort Augustus.

We have three double guest bedrooms and one single guest bedroom, all with full en-suite shower facilities. Each of our rooms are designed in a modern and comfortable style.

Off road parking is available for cars and motorbikes.

Our home was built in 1760 at the entrance to the fort grounds, and has undergone a number of alterations over the years. Most recently we have added the new breakfast room which provides stunning views of the Caledonian Canal, Meall Dubh peak and the centre of Fort Augustus.

We are located centrally in the heart of the Fort Augustus, within a stones throw of all the village pubs, restaurants, supermarket, shops and central amenities as well as the Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness.

When you stay with us why not take a stroll along the canal path and look out over Loch Ness at one of the most stunning views in the Scottish Highlands. You never know, you might spot a mysterious shape in the distance which could be the next sighting of the famous Nessie, the Loch Ness Monster.

Time Line:
1760 A grand House Is Built By A Friend Of The Forts Governor.
1770 The house is sold to be used as a school.
1800 The Caledonian Canal Co, acquire the house and all the lands nearby to build the Caledonian Canal.
1822 The Caledonian Canal is complete and the road is moved from the side of the house to the front.
1876 Benedictine monks lease the old Fort.
1876 Benedictine monks lease the house and extend it to use as a school.
1895 Benedictine monks build St Columbas School in the grounds.
1895 The Post Office invent postal addresses, the current tenants, The Benedictine Monks, name the house Abbey Cottage, Canal Bank, Fort Augustus. Traditionally houses were named after their owners, such as Tigh Na ..., meaning House Of ... in Scottish Galic.
1895 - 1998 Benedictine Monks sub let the house, mainly to none monastical staff of the Abbey.
1933 The house is listed as a Bed and Breakfast in a tourist guide.
1998 The Benedictine Monks hand the house back to Scottish Canals
1998- 2010 Scottish Canals rent the house to long term tenants.
2010 We purchased the house from Scottish Canals, who had owned the house for over 200 years.
2010 - now We have extended and remodeled the house, and continue to do so.

  • Fort Augustus Caledonian Canal by Night
  • Loch Ness Monster in Fort Augustus on The Caledonian Canal
  • The Caledonian Canal in Fort Augustus from Loch Ness
  • Loch Ness from Fort Augustus

Abbey Cottage Loch Ness Fort Augustus Loch Ness Inverness shire PH32 4BD Scotland